When Life Gives you Korean Pears, Make Pear Sauce

24 Jan

Luis bought a pack of beautiful Korean Pears for me.  I love when he picks up interesting ingredients that push the limits of my cooking ability.

Korean Pears aren’t as dense in texture as regular pears. They are very light, juicy, and sweet.

First thing that came to my mind was to use the pears with beef.

I used my Ninja Master Prep to shred the Korean pears, ginger, brown sugar, lemon juice, and lemon zest.  It looked like applesauce and tasted very refreshing and sweet.  Might be good on a slice of bread or ice cream.

We used it as an addition for our garlic and soy sauce marinated steaks.

 

After our meal I looked up some recipes online that included Korean Pears and many recipes mentioned pairing the pears with raw beef, like a beef tartare.  Not sure if I am ready for raw beef yet, even though I love tuna tartare.  Maybe one day.

Luis loved this dish so much that I made it again the next day for lunch.

2 Responses to “When Life Gives you Korean Pears, Make Pear Sauce”

  1. Melanie Duffy January 24, 2011 at 6:31 pm #

    OH MAN!!! This looks amazing!! I miss your cooking soooo much. Today at work for lunch we had grilled pork medallions with a blueberry sauce. WOW! Also the braised cabbage was so delicious, the chef gave me some to take home. SWEET! I’d like to try Korean pears…..wonder where to get them around here?

  2. 1,460 Days of Georgia January 24, 2011 at 11:53 pm #

    ow.. blueberry sauce sounds really good. I love meats with fruits. So, you took some home for Danny or you ate it all yourself? =) You might be able to find Korean pears at an asian market. I think there is one on Miller.

Leave a Reply

