Mount Mitchell @ North Carolina

1 Jun

Happy 1st day of June, and exactly one month until my 28th birthday!

Saturday morning after the mist had cleared my family took Luis and I hiking at Mount Mitchell State Park, the highest point east of the Mississippi. If you missed any of the beginning posts of our trip to North Carolina, you could catch up here and here.

The day was absolutely beautiful.  The air was cool and crisp and the sky was so clear that we were able to see every peak.

Isn’t it just beautiful?  I have never seen such a clear view of mountains before.  I’ve read that the summit is covered with clouds 8 days out of 10, and saturday was a great day to capture the beauty of the mountains. It almost doesn’t look real and these photos are not enhanced in any way. True colors according to my Nikon D3100.

Mount Mitchell’s nature trail.

This was one of the easiest hikes we have done, but also the highest and most colorful hike we have done to date.

This is one day, neither Luis nor I will ever forget.

Thank-you my Chereshkoff family for introducing us to a part of North Carolina’s beauty.

3 Responses to “Mount Mitchell @ North Carolina”

  1. Melanie Duffy June 1, 2011 at 7:33 pm #

    WOW!!! The blue is so blue…..great pics! You were up in the clouds for real.

  2. Branch Ashton Hudgins October 21, 2011 at 3:24 pm #

    Hi, I’m an artist located in Richmond Virginia and I’m currently making work about mt. Mitchell and its geological isolation. I wanted to contact you via email but i couldn’t find any contact! I thought I would just leave a reply here, I was hoping we could collaborate with this! If you have any personal photos or would like to share your experience of hiking Mt. Mitchell that would be more than helpful, I realize there are photos on here but I wanted to contact you first. If you have any more questions about the work I’m doing please feel free to contact me. Thanks again!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. First Year of Blogging! « 1,460 Days of Georgia - December 1, 2011

    […] on two websites; Howell Mill Food Park and Sweet Auburn Curb Market.  My pictures from the Mount Mitchell post were used for an art project concerning the geological isolation of Mt. Mitchell by a student […]

Leave a Reply

