Savannah, Georgia

23 Jul

A long over due post from weeks ago.  Luis and I took my mom and aunt for an overnight stay in Savannah. We also spent some time on the beaches of Tybee Island, but I reached my max photo upload this month, so I will post about our beach trip another day.

DSC_0061

I wish I had the energy to post on a daily basis, but work has been very busy this month.  I’ve been so drained, that the only thing I could manage is to sit on the couch with a nice strong drink and relax, well at least for a few hours. I have been bringing work home with me just to keep up and I haven’t even been cooking.. it’s very sad. Now that I feel like I can catch my breath I hope I could not only post more often, but cook my husband and/or his friends more meals.

DSC_0075
DSC_0068

Savannah has so much detail in almost every stone, corners of  the buildings, arches in the parking lots, and all the moss hanging from every branch and all I could do is sweat. It was a very hot day and it was hard to concentrate on the beauty. This was my first time walking around the streets of Savannah.  Luis had passed through Savannah to get to Tybee Island a few years ago, but we never stopped to look around.

DSC_0080

Lafayette square, and it really did make me feel like I was in the HBO series True Blood. Love Lafayette =)

DSC_0091

DSC_0092
DSC_0100
DSC_0099

DSC_0108

Love knobby trees.

After visiting one of the many cemeteries, it was time for us to head home and into a nice air conditioned car.  If it wasn’t so hot we probably would have stayed longer to explore the city more, but we had enough.

DSC_0120
DSC_0111

Goodbye horses, trolleys, and all the lovely moss. We will see you again when some cool weather moves in.

One Response to “Savannah, Georgia”

  1. indyink July 23, 2011 at 3:49 pm #

    Savannah is quite a gorgeous city. Always full of tourists, but still a photographer’s paradise when you can get clear shots. Everyone told me to go to Bonaventure Cemetery, but we didn’t have the time. I did snag a shot of the St. John the Baptist Cathedral, as well as the public square outside, just like you. The rich, lush personality of Savannah really shows through in your pictures. Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

