Mary Mac’s Tea Room @ Ponce De Leon

24 Aug

I’ve heard many people talk about Mary Mac’s Tea Room since we moved to Atlanta, being one of the best southern restaurants.  While Luis had his family here visiting us we decided to try the place out and put all these rumors to rest.

Image Hosted by ImageShack.us

I love the little room we sat in, which I guess I could call it the bar room, since from what I saw was the only room with a bar in it.  The place is divided between 3 sections or rooms. The section/room we were in felt very cozy and relaxing. Our waiter asked if it was our first time there, explained how to fill out the make-your-own menu form and then went to get our drinks. When he came back he served us collard greens and corn bread as a starter, which I loved, and is given to first time customers. I love the south!

Image Hosted by ImageShack.us
Image Hosted by ImageShack.us

The place had a line out the door, but thankfully we didn’t have to wait long.  I was a little nervous since the last place we went to because everyone told us how great it was and also had a long lone which turned out to be a two hour wait for a table, was awful. Mary Mac’s however, was delicious and would probably wait two hours to eat here if I had to. The prices on the menu are awesome and our waiter was very helpful.

My little brother and I were in love with the bread selection; cornbread, mini cinnamon buns, and some other goodness that I didn’t try because the mini cinnamon buns kept calling my name.

Image Hosted by ImageShack.us

Old school cream soda, yum! And just look how adorable my little brother is!! Stop growing up!! I miss his face!

Image Hosted by ImageShack.us
Image Hosted by ImageShack.us
Image Hosted by ImageShack.us
Image Hosted by ImageShack.us

My mouth is watering.  I had the chicken with stuffing and cornbread dressing, fried green tomatoes, and sweet potato soufflé. So good!

Image Hosted by ImageShack.us

And now for the desserts, which we went a little over board with ordering…

Image Hosted by ImageShack.us
Image Hosted by ImageShack.us
Image Hosted by ImageShack.us
Image Hosted by ImageShack.us

Those last two photos were a little shaky because I was rushing to put my camera down and dig in, plus not everyone has my same excitement for taking pictures of food and would rather just eat instead of patiently waiting for me to take the perfect picture while their fork/spoon is waiting up in the air in position to dive right in once I give the okay to take a bite.  Sorry and I love you!

Thank-you mom, dad, and little brother for making our first visit to the infamous Mary Mac’s so wonderful.

Leave a Reply

