Pomodoro Sauce @ Home

12 Sep

Talking with my co-workers about their homemade tomato sauce recipes made me think, “why haven’t I made it before!?”.  So, off I went to the nearest store after work and grabbed a few pounds of plum tomatoes.

Image Hosted by ImageShack.us

After boiling the tomatoes I threw them into ice water.  It helped the skin slide right off.

Image Hosted by ImageShack.us

I added garlic, onions, fresh basil, and oregano.

I split the sauce in half and used the first portion over spaghetti, along with homemade garlic bread.

Image Hosted by ImageShack.us

The next day, I used the second half and added meat to it to make a meat sauce and sliced up some veggies to use for a lasagna. My first ever lasagna.

Image Hosted by ImageShack.us

Image Hosted by ImageShack.us

Image Hosted by ImageShack.us
Image Hosted by ImageShack.us
Image Hosted by ImageShack.us

Not only did Luis think it was one of the best tomato sauces he ever had, but added to the lasagna just made it amazing.  No lie, it was the best lasagna I have ever had.  I am thinking my new Sunday ritual will be to make a pot of this simple and easy sauce, jar it up and use for week day meals.  No need to buy jarred sauce ever again.  My next food goal is to turn a batch of sauce into one of my favorites; vodka sauce. Yum!

Leave a Reply

