Taste of Atlanta

22 Oct

On the edge of campus on Tech Square, Luis and I attended the 10th year of Taste of Atlanta.  With over 80 restaurants showing off their culinary talents in little tasty bites, Luis and I hardly knew where to begin.

Image Hosted by ImageShack.us
Image Hosted by ImageShack.us
Image Hosted by ImageShack.us
Image Hosted by ImageShack.us
Image Hosted by ImageShack.us

Milton’s was one of my favorites.  We had the Low Country Shrimp & Cheddar Grits and Charleston Crab Bisque Sherry Drizzle & Chives.

Sorry, I did not get any pictures of them as I was trying to get my bites in before Luis ate it all  =)

Image Hosted by ImageShack.us
Image Hosted by ImageShack.us
Image Hosted by ImageShack.us
Image Hosted by ImageShack.us
Image Hosted by ImageShack.us

From the Shout tent we tried Salmon Rillettes, spicy meatballs, and warm chestnut soup.  Not one of our favorites, but pretty tasty.

Image Hosted by ImageShack.us
Image Hosted by ImageShack.us

We had the White Truffle Chicken Salad Slider and Roasted Beet Salad with Local Goat Cheese (not pictured) from The Shed.

Image Hosted by ImageShack.us

This is my “I love food” smile.

Image Hosted by ImageShack.us

Image Hosted by ImageShack.us

Luis was in love with the Grilled Texas Cream Corn from D.B.A Barbeque.

Image Hosted by ImageShack.us

One of my favorites was Kaleidoscope.  We had Thai Style Cashews & Peanuts and Thai Style Beef Jerky.  The jerky was absolutely amazing, with tiny jalapeño
slices, thai spices, and a hint of fish oil.  This restaurant is on my list to visit for a whole meal ASAP.

Image Hosted by ImageShack.us
Image Hosted by ImageShack.us
Image Hosted by ImageShack.us
Image Hosted by ImageShack.us
Image Hosted by ImageShack.us

Once Luis saw Yakisoba on the menu at Genki, he had to try it.  It was pretty good, slightly off from the Yakisoba in Japan since it had meat and it’s usually made with only veggies.

Image Hosted by ImageShack.us
Image Hosted by ImageShack.us
Image Hosted by ImageShack.us
Image Hosted by ImageShack.us
Image Hosted by ImageShack.us
Image Hosted by ImageShack.us

Once I saw California Dreaming with She Crab Soup, I had to try it, which I loved!

Image Hosted by ImageShack.us
Image Hosted by ImageShack.us
Image Hosted by ImageShack.us
Image Hosted by ImageShack.us
Image Hosted by ImageShack.us
Image Hosted by ImageShack.us

My other favorite was Mali.  We had Chicken Naam Sod with Cabbage and Spicy Basil Chicken with Chips.  These dishes had so much flavor.  The Basil Chicken was spicy and sweet, while the Chicken Naam was refreshing (as Luis said), another restaurant I will have to add to my list to visit soon.

Image Hosted by ImageShack.us

Image Hosted by ImageShack.us

Luis had a Gryo from Mediterranean Grill.

Image Hosted by ImageShack.us
Image Hosted by ImageShack.us

While I had Alu Tikki Chole from Bhojanic, which I really enjoyed, but then again I love Indian food.

Image Hosted by ImageShack.us
Image Hosted by ImageShack.us
Image Hosted by ImageShack.us

One of the last tents we visited was The Iberian Pig.  We had Pork CheeK Tacos. Another favorite.

Image Hosted by ImageShack.us

There were so many more tents we wanted to try out, but we were actually full.  All we could handle was one more tent, for dessert.

Image Hosted by ImageShack.us
Red Velvet Whoopie Pie from West Egg.

Image Hosted by ImageShack.us
Image Hosted by ImageShack.us
Image Hosted by ImageShack.us

The perfect ending to a beautiful day with really good food.  I am so glad Luis decided last minute to get us tickets for Taste of Atlanta.  I have never been to a food festival or a food and wine festival before, so this was a nice treat.

Leave a Reply

