Squash & Pumpkin Soup @ Home

2 Nov

For Halloween I wanted to make a squash and pumpkin soup, but I couldn’t find a pumpkin anywhere… of any kind! That  is what I get for wanting a pumpkin on the day of Halloween. So, instead I used Kabocha Squash and Sweet Dumpling Squash.

Image Hosted by ImageShack.us
Image Hosted by ImageShack.us

While I was carving out the “guts” as my mom calls it from the pumpkin/squash, Luis told me he had never had pumpkin seeds before.  I do not have many memories from my childhood of Halloween, but I do have two!  =)   I remember my aunt Kathy dressing me up as a vampire one year and taking me around to trick or treat, and I have another memory from when I was really young of my mother baking pumpkin seeds while I was doing something (I can’t remember what, probably eating all the trick or treaters candy) in the living room with my grandfather.  It was probably my first and last experience with baked pumpkin seeds.  I must have enjoyed them if I still remember it so, with all the beautiful “guts” pulled out I made some spicy baked pumpkin seeds for Luis to try.

Image Hosted by ImageShack.us
Image Hosted by ImageShack.us

I added sea salt and cayenne pepper to the seeds to give them a touch of heat.

Image Hosted by ImageShack.us

I roasted the squash with 2 chopped leaks, and 8 whole garlic cloves for 45 minutes. The smell of the squash roasting in the oven was amazing.  I wish my kitchen could always smell like that and it reminded me of Thanksgiving.  This will definitely be a dish I will be making for our pre-Thanksgiving dinner with our friends coming up next week.

Image Hosted by ImageShack.us

I served the soup with some spicy baked pumpkin seeds on top.  It gave the soup a nice crunch.  Sour cream would have been good with this too.  I love this soup so much, that I think I could eat it every week!

Not only do the pumpkin seeds remind me of my mom, who has a birthday today (Happy Birthday Mom!), but as soon as I tasted the soup I instantly though of my mom.  You would love this soup Mom, so you should make it, haha!

Leave a Reply

