Day 5 in Kemah, Texas

11 Jan

My grandmother gave Luis and I a bottle of Champagne during Christmas to toast to the New Year, which we didn’t.  Instead, we held on to it for a night of celebration when we felt comfortable enough in Texas to toast to new opportunities.

We finally took a moment to have that toast.

Image Hosted by ImageShack.us

Along with our mini celebration, I made Luis a little sweet surprise.

Image Hosted by ImageShack.us

I am not a big fan of apple pie, but Luis loves it, and I knew it would make him happy.  The best part is that these are mini so he won’t have to worry about having too much.

I’ve been obsessed with Pinterest lately, which is where I found this idea.

Image Hosted by ImageShack.us
Image Hosted by ImageShack.us
Image Hosted by ImageShack.us
Image Hosted by ImageShack.us
Image Hosted by ImageShack.us

To go with the mini pies, I made steak stuffed with horseradish butter, mashed potatoes, and asparagus that was baked with lemon and oil.

Image Hosted by ImageShack.us

One of my goals for 2012 was to bake more, and to become better at it.

 Luis loved the mini pies so, I guess I am starting off the year right.  I also think Luis is loving this whole housewife thing.

3 Responses to “Day 5 in Kemah, Texas”

  1. Clarissa January 12, 2012 at 7:43 pm #

    Duffy! I came across your blog when I saw an update from you on FB. It was a post about your first, now empty place in Georgia. I fell in love! It’s like the girl I met in middle school, but you’re even more awesome! You love the same things I like: home decor, baking, cooking. I’m glad we became friends on Pinterest too. So excited to find this blog! It makes me want to mail you something lovely in the mail one day. As we would say back in middle school: k.i.t.!

    • 1,460 Days of Georgia January 12, 2012 at 7:50 pm #

      My sweet friend, how I love you. I have never forgotten all the little gifts you have given me, and thank-you for the kind words. I have thought of you often since middle school, and so happy to have found you through FB. I also love your Pinterest tags, and have stolen (re-pinned) a few of your pins. You have always had great style. Yes, please let’s K.I.T.

  2. Melanie Duffy January 12, 2012 at 8:07 pm #

    Bridget the little wifey-poo…..I love it!

Leave a Reply

