Day 15 Slidell, Louisiana – Honey Island Swamp

24 Jan

While we were staying in Slidell, we decided to take a ride on a boat through the swamp.  This was my whole reason for coming back to Louisiana.  I wanted to see the difference between the swamps in Florida and Louisiana, and Luis’ front yard, the Everglades.

Image Hosted by ImageShack.us
Image Hosted by ImageShack.us
Image Hosted by ImageShack.us

We picked Cajun Encounters, which was only 15 minutes from our hotel. Our guide was named Bishop. He was extremely qualified with a college degree in biology, born and raised in Louisiana, his family owned shrimping boats as well as a pet store, and he had the best jokes!  Okay, well, that last one is a lie.  His jokes were corny, but they made me laugh. My favorite story of his was the best pet he ever owned, a rat!  Because a rat won’t break out of his cage and fly from curtain to curtain in the house at 3 o’clock in the morning like his flying squirrel did.  As he said; “you just gotta get over the fact that it is a rat”.  I have a cousin who would agree with him.

Image Hosted by ImageShack.us
DSC_0209
DSC_0216
DSC_0217
DSC_0219

This time of the year only small alligators are out, and we saw lots of them.  I didn’t take any pictures of them, because I am from Miami.  With Luis and where he lives, we saw them everyday.  Luis even had to catch a few and sometimes their babies too, and relocate them.  I wanted to keep the babies, but darn it, they grow.  I wanted to see the Cypress tress with the moss hanging down to the water, and that is what I got!

DSC_0223
DSC_0220

Amazing.

I love the reflections on the water.

DSC_0228
DSC_0234
DSC_0235
DSC_0239
DSC_0242
DSC_0226
DSC_0228
DSC_0259

My favorite though, the Cypress knees.

DSC_0263
DSC_0266

DSC_0275

Bishop also took us through Indian Village.  Homes that are only accessible by boat.  It was there that I was shocked to see boats that had been relocated by Katrina.  We were told FEMA had done an amazing job cleaning up the area, but some things could not be moved since someone owned them.

Image Hosted by ImageShack.us
Image Hosted by ImageShack.us
Image Hosted by ImageShack.us

Speaking of swamps.  I love the drive from Texas to New Orleans.  It’s about five hours, but I really enjoyed driving over those long bridges I talked about before.   This time around I was able to stop and snap a few pictures.

Image Hosted by ImageShack.us

Luis checking in between the swamp weeds.  Little frogs were jumping everywhere.

Image Hosted by ImageShack.us
Image Hosted by ImageShack.us
Image Hosted by ImageShack.us

And this view is of Irish Bayou, a bridge heading towards the French Quarter in New Orleans.

Image Hosted by ImageShack.us

Until tomorrow, the last and final post of New Orleans, and it’s about the food!  Of course.

4 Responses to “Day 15 Slidell, Louisiana – Honey Island Swamp”

  1. Melanie Duffy January 24, 2012 at 8:50 pm #

    What happens if you should break down when driving on those bridges? I think the swamps look a lot like the glades.

    • 1,460 Days of Georgia January 24, 2012 at 11:55 pm #

      They are wide enough for cars to pull over. It was very neat. I was hoping to see a Map Turtle that can only be found in Honey Island Swamp, but no such luck.

  2. Cindy January 25, 2012 at 7:47 am #

    My parents are both from Louisiana. A little town called Mellville. I have family in Slidell. I love seeing “Nawlins” through your eyes. Keep up the visits.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Day 113 – Texas « 1,460 Days of Georgia - April 27, 2012

    […] to complete everything I had on my list.  You can read more about our trip to New Orleans here, here, and […]

Leave a Reply

