Day 55 – Kemah, Texas – Sewing Projects

8 Mar

Last weekend I pulled out my sewing machine for a small project.

I have never used a sewing machine, been behind a sewing machine, or touched a sewing machine.

Image Hosted by ImageShack.us
Image Hosted by ImageShack.us
Image Hosted by ImageShack.us

I stuffed the top heart with cotton for a raised heart look, and for extra cushion to push my pins into.

Image Hosted by ImageShack.us

To get the feel of the power from the sewing machine, and to learn how to stitch the trim, I made a heart shaped pin cushion.   I made three pin cushions to be exact.  The picture above is from the best looking one.  I am slowly learning.

I also played around with all the different stitch designs with an extra square piece of fabric, which took up most of my time.  So many different design possibilities.

My next project is a girl’s dress!  I am still staring at the pieces wondering when I will get the motivation to complete it.  I now understand other bloggers who write about their new craft of sewing, and how they have a love hate relationship with it.

Image Hosted by ImageShack.us

Maybe by this weekend I will be able to finish it…

Or maybe I will have to wait till we go back to Atlanta and enroll in sewing classes at Georgia Tech for the summer.

2 Responses to “Day 55 – Kemah, Texas – Sewing Projects”

  1. Melanie Duffy March 8, 2012 at 6:47 pm #

    I think you did a very good job at your first attempt. You certainly have done more than I ever had.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Day 113 – Texas « 1,460 Days of Georgia - April 27, 2012

    […] two dresses I only sewed one dress.  You can read about my attempts at sewing here and […]

Leave a Reply

