Back by Popular Demand

7 Sep

I’ve been asked, err, told to update my blog.  We didn’t do much while we were home for the summer in Georgia and before we knew it, it was time to move again.

It’s been awhile since my last post and even though I am not in Georgia at the moment, but instead living in Michigan, and this blog is still called 1460 Days of Georgia, here is my story so far while in Michigan.

Image Hosted by ImageShack.us

After a long road trip, stopping to see family in North Carolina, Washington D.C., and Ohio,  we finally made it to our new location this past weekend.  We are now in Midland, Michigan  for Luis’ second co-op with Dow Chemical.  We will be here until mid-December and like usual I have made a long list of things to do and see while we are here.

Midland is considered a mid-sized community with a population of a little over 42,000.  Compared to Atlanta or Miami’s population this seems like a pretty small town to me.  Particularly when you show up for $1.00 tacos and trivia at a nearby bar on a Tuesday night and it seems as though the whole town is there too.

Here is a shot of the main street in downtown Midland, where most of the restaurants and shops are.

Image Hosted by ImageShack.us
Image Hosted by ImageShack.us
Image Hosted by ImageShack.us

This nicely detailed long road reminds me of Miracle Mile in Miami or the Virginia Highlands in Atlanta.

Every street light has hanging flower planters and there are a variety of cute sculptures of snowmen that have been placed on corners or in flower beds along Main Street, very cute.

Image Hosted by ImageShack.us
Image Hosted by ImageShack.us

A block away from Main Street, is The Tridge, which is on my list. So, after our dinner at Sam’s Pizza on Main Street tonight, Luis and I took a walk to The Tridge to take a look.

Image Hosted by ImageShack.us
Image Hosted by ImageShack.us
Image Hosted by ImageShack.us
Image Hosted by ImageShack.us
Image Hosted by ImageShack.us
Image Hosted by ImageShack.us
Image Hosted by ImageShack.us
Image Hosted by ImageShack.us
Image Hosted by ImageShack.us

The Tridge is a three way pedestrian footbridge built in 1981 over the Tittabawassee and Chippewa rivers, The Tridge marks the spot where the two rivers meet.

We are planning on another trip to The Tridge sometime this weekend and visit the Chippewa Nature Center and enjoy the center before it gets too cold. Tonight was in the upper 60’s, which was nicer than this morning when it was in the 50’s.  And it’s not even fall yet.

I didn’t know moving to Georgia would lead me to living in so many other places other than Georgia, or else this blog would have a different title. I guess this blog can still be called 1460 Days of Georgia because, I will return to Georgia and if it wasn’t for Georgia, I wouldn’t be where I am today. So, as long as you don’t mind the confusing title as Luis and I venture around the U.S., please continue to read and continue to inspire me as you have.

Have a great Friday night!

7 Responses to “Back by Popular Demand”

  1. TERRI September 8, 2012 at 6:33 am #

    Seems like a nice town. I really like the bridge/passageway….looks like you could have a nice picnic nearby.

    • 1,460 Days of Georgia September 9, 2012 at 5:04 pm #

      Oh yes! There are few really good places to have a nice picnic around here. I was actually just talking to Luis about having one before it gets too cold.

  2. Cindy September 8, 2012 at 9:25 am #

    Thank goodness you are back. I have really missed your blogs. Don’t you know we all travel and dine out vicariously through you! 🙂

  3. Melanie Duffy September 8, 2012 at 5:06 pm #

    Glad you’re up again…..missed living vicariously through you!

    ________________________________

  4. Elaine Miller September 11, 2012 at 12:13 pm #

    Melanie, My sentiments exactly!

  5. Carlene Branch September 15, 2012 at 11:06 am #

    Hope you love my “home”state! What do you think of Mich. tomatoes?
    Carlene

    • 1,460 Days of Georgia September 16, 2012 at 9:42 pm #

      Haven’t had any tomatoes yet! We have tired Michigan cherries, wine, fish and maple syrup. I am really enjoying Michigan, I wouldn’t mind living here so far… I will let you know if that changes once the snow hits.

Leave a Reply

